On love and expectations.

I’ve always been in love with the idea of love. I’m a romantic, always have been and probably I’ll always be.
I’ve read so many love stories and watched lots of movies and series about love. Not all of them have happy endings, some are very predictable and a few others made me cry.
When I think about the kind of person I would like to share my life with I think of so many qualities: funny, athletic, kind, loving… And so many other things.
Have you ever heard people saying that after experiencing an amazing love, you’ll probably compare some of your next relationships to the one that truly changed you?
If I could get to experience the kind of love I want it would be something like Carrie Bradshaw described on Sex and the City: “I’m looking for love. Real love. Ridiculous, inconvenient, consuming, can’t love without each other love.” Or in Olivia Pope’s words: “I don’t want normal and easy and simple. I want painful, difficult, devastating, life-changing, extraordinary love.”
Those quotes really get me every time I think about them.
Sometimes I think I had everything I’m looking for with my ex, but now I realize I had something good and maybe even amazing, but it just wasn’t quite fulfilling. I’m always looking for more, I dream big and I’m really ambitious. I also need someone who pushes me beyond and shows me there are no limits for the things I really want to accomplish. I’m looking for someone who shares his hopes and dreams with me, someone who supports mines and who’s willing to let me help him accomplish his’.
Like I said at the beginning, I’m a romantic. I’ve always been and probably I’ll always be.

Image from here.

Say something!

